CIVIC AFFAIRS

2 June 2014 6.00pm - 6.25 pm

Present: Councillors Cantrill (Vice-Chair), Ashton, Benstead, Herbert, Pitt and Smart

Officers present:

Chief Executive: Antoinette Jackson Head of Legal Services: Simon Pugh Committee Manager: Glenn Burgess

FOR ADOPTION OF THE COUNCIL

14/22/CIV Nominations For Committees For The Municipal Year 2014/15

The committee considered a paper setting out the proposed size of committees, the allocations by party and the nominations received. The Committee considered the rules on political balance set out in the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 in developing the recommendations set out below.

Councillor Pitt updated the committee on Liberal Democrat Group's nominations.

Councillor Hipkin updated the committee on the Independent/Conservative Group's nominations.

In response to a question from Councillor Pitt the Head of Legal Services confirmed that arrangements for filming and photography at the Area Joint Committee (AJC) would be governed by the County Council's protocol.

Councillor Herbert spoke in support of a smaller AJC committee and agreed to raise this at future meetings of the AJC.

Resolved (unanimously) to:

i. Recommend to Council to agree to the number and size of committees and to note the nominations as listed below:

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATION(S)	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
Community Services (Currently meets: Thursdays at 1.30pm)	Liberal Democrats	3 (1)	Reiner, Reid, Austin (Alt: tbc)
	Labour	5 (1)	Moghadas, Sarris, Bird, Sinnott, Ratcliffe (Alt: Robertson)
		8 Total	

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATION(S)	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
Environment	Liberal	3 (1)	Pitt, Smart,
(Currently meets:	Democrats		Moore (Alt: tbc)
Tuesdays at 5pm)			
	Labour	5 (1)	Gawthrope, Robertson, Ratcliffe, Perry,
		8 Total	Smart (Alt: Sinnott)

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE	NOMINATION(S)	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
Strategy &	Liberal	3 (1)	Bick, Smith,
Resources	Democrats		Cantrill (Alt: tbc)
(Currently meets:			
Mondays at 5pm)	Labour	5 (1)	Robertson,
			Benstead,
			Sinnott, Smart,
		8 Total	Baigent
			(Alt: Sarris)

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE		NOMINATION(S)	NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
Housing (Currently Tuesdays	meets:	Liberal Democrats	2 (1)	Blackhurst, Avery (Alt: tbc)
5.30pm)		Labour	5 (1)	Todd-Jones, Birtles, Bird, Baigent, Robertson (Alt: Gawthrope)
		Indep/Cons	1 (1) 8 Total	Holland (Alt: Hipkin)

REGULATORY COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
PLANNING	Liberal	3 (1)	Avery, Smart,
(Currently meets: Wednesdays at 9.30am)	Democrat		Tunnacliffe (Alt: tbc)
	Labour	4 (1)	Blencowe, Gawthrope, Dryden, Hart (Alt: Bird)
	Indep/Cons	1 (1)	Hipkin
		8 Total	(Alt: Holland)

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
JOINT DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE	Liberal Democrat	2 (2)	Avery, Smart (Alt: tbc)
(Currently meets: Tuesdays/Wednesdays	Labour	4 (2)	Blencowe, Robertson,
or Thursdays at 10am)		6 Total	Dryden, Price, (Alts: Gawthrope and Herbert)

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBER (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
LICENSING (Currently meets: Mondays at 10am)	Liberal Democrat	4 (1)	Austin, Bick, Pippas, Smith (Alt: tbc)
	Labour	7 (1)	Benstead, Owers, Sinnott, Gawthrope, McPherson, O'Reilly, Bird (Alt: Baigent)
	Indep/Cons	1 (1)	Meftah (Alt:Holland)
		12 Total	

OTHER COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBER (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
CIVIC AFFAIRS	Liberal Democrat	2(1)	Cantrill, Pitt (Alt: Bick)
	Labour	4 (1) 6 Total	Benstead, Hart, McPherson, Robertson (Alt: Moghadas)
		o rotar	(7 tit. 1410giladas)

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
EMPLOYMENT APPEALS SUB	Liberal Democrat	2	Pippas, Smart
	Labour	5	Birtles, Gawthrope, Price, Bird, Blencowe
	Indep/Cons	1	Hipkin
		8 Total	

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
TRANSPORT AREA	Liberal	2	Smart + 1 tbc
JOINT COMMITTEE	Democrat		
(AJC)			
	Labour	4	Blencowe,
			Robertson,
		6 Total	O'Reilly,
			Ratcliffe